Horry County Council Chairman Announces Welcome Back Committee

Staff Report From South Carolina CEO

Wednesday, April 29th, 2020

Horry County Council Chairman Johnny Gardner announced the formation of a working “Welcome Back” committee to address economic recovery following the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic in our area.

The Committee will be chaired by Horry County Councilman Orton Bellamy. At this time members include:

Richard Carroll

John Cassidy

Rick Elliott

Johnny Gardner

Wayne Gray

Tyler Servant

Lance Thompson

Members of Horry County staff represented on the committee include Police Chief Joe Hill, Fire Rescue Chief Joseph Tanner, Assistant County Administrator for Public Safety Randy Webster, Assistant County Administrator for Administration Barry Spivey and County Administrator Steve Gosnell. In addition, representatives from each municipality will be invited to attend. Other members may be appointed.

Chairman Gardner said, “Horry County is one of the hardest hit areas in our state economically and we are going to have to work together and take action to ensure our businesses recover and are ready to welcome our residents and visitors. I’m certain that we have the right team in place to tackle this challenge and help us come back stronger than ever.”